JARVIS COCKER IS GOD

He is. Don’t believe me? Well, then obviously you weren’t at the Pulp show at Radio Music Hall last night. He’s no small deity.

I never imagined we’d get to see Pulp live. I couldn’t believe it when I heard they were going to play Radio City Music Hall. I couldn’t believe that we managed to get tickets and our seats were amazing except for the douche in front of us (more about that later).

There is no comparison to seeing a band play live. I mean, from the recordings, we already loved PULP. But now I only love them more. The sheer energy, charisma and musical power was overwhelming. I swear my mouth was open half the time in awe.

Every song was incomparable. Jarvis danced around like a madman, his long legs and arms shimmy was joyous to behold.

 

His tangents in between songs were so compelling especially when he talked about Richard Berry (his birthday was yesterday). He started to play Berry’s song Louie Louie on his guitar and the audience sang along without hesitation. Jarvis commented about how much poorer the world would be without that riff and talked about how that song was criticized as being primitive because it only has three chords and then he launched into the next Pulp song saying, well this one only has two.

 

From the pictures Mark snapped you can see how Jarvis, perfected his spider man impression though the security guards looked worried.

The only blight was the aforementioned douche in front of us. Why is it whenever you attend a live show, there’s always some asshole or two that thinks you came to see them? What is that phenomenon? Can we please end this? I mean this guy in front of us spent like two-thirds of the show turning around  to stare at us, to demand attention. It was like, can you see how hardcore I am, how into it I am? I don’t get it. The show is in front of you dude!

Another thing I don’t get Radio City Music Hall security was totally anal about people filming and taking pictures. I mean what do they think they’re going to do with it? Except the woman next to me was really annoying about filming everything perpetually pushing and elbowing me so I had to wonder how much of the concert did she actually enjoy if she barely watched any of it without the camera clamped over her face?

Now I have to listen and re-listen to everything Pulp has ever done!

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to JARVIS COCKER IS GOD

  1. Pingback: PULP – A film about life, death and supermarkets | makarmusic

Leave a Reply

