deathgrip

Do musicians talk about tendonitis?

Well, Dave Mustaine talked about his injury. But then again he is Megadeth.

In our past two gigs, and rehearsal my left hand (the one I use to construct chords) has been turning into a claw. I’ve always had problem with my right strumming hand, I tend to hold the pick too tightly and it locks up but this left hand problem was new and very upsetting. I literally couldn’t move my hand, my whole arm locked up.

 I’ve had problems with tendonitis since I was in my early twenties, some of the problems were very severe. So I’m unfortunately used to tightness, discomfort and varying degrees of pain, but it usually occurs more with typing than with playing guitar.

 Our last gig at the R Bar, there were several songs where my fingers on my left hand could basically not move at all. It was pretty painful.

[Although I was proud when the guitarist from BattleMaiden was taken aback that I played through the pain.]

It took me an hour or two to regain the full function of my left hand and arm.

But Mark, a.k.a. Problem-Solver Purnell, pinpointed the main culprit. My Epiphone.

The neck is too long for vertically challenged stature to play as my main guitar. I just don’t have the reach. The B-barre chord becomes clumsy with my puny fingers.

I used to play so much more confidently with my Crafter Mini RF40E (it’s a great affordable lo-fi guitar which is no longer being manufactured) but I strummed that guitar into oblivion, now it’s super buzzy and may be beyond repair. (I’m going to get a second and/or third opinion).

I had to go back to playing mini guitars. I bought a Martin LXME Little Martin Acoustic-Electric Guitar which is lovely, but I miss the bite of my Crafter and the Epiphone.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Concerts, guitars, Music, Recording, tendonitis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

