time has spun away from me

just wanted to drop a quick note apologizing that I’ve been terribly deficient in writing new blogs. I have a lot to say but have been working on finalizing my first novel and that’s been taking up a lot of my time. But starting next week, new blogs are coming. Thanks for hanging in there.

of course, I said I finished my novel on Feb 17th of this year and that was the last you heard from me for a while…

I took about two months off from working on my novel after “finishing” and I sent it to a bunch of people for their feedback. Heard back from my kick-ass friend Silvia within a month. I’ve been revising the novel since April.

It’s closer than ever but the revising and reshaping takes longer and longer for me. Does that mean I’m close? I certainly hope so.

I have to say this is one of the hardest and most humbling things I’ve ever done. This period of writing and revising of the last year the most grueling. I’ve often despaired that I would never complete this novel and that despair still comes in waves but I’m closer than ever before. But it’s like I’m between the 20 and 25th mile of the marathon. I’m not entirely sure where I am.

But I think that’s how you’re supposed to feel when you’re closing in on the finish line.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

