This novel has taken me this long

This novel has taken me this long because of all the “research” I’ve done.

other ch notes

Damion notes

new notes

And this is just the electronic files. Also you don’t see the files within the subfolder. And I have paper files, most of which I store in our deep linen closet (which is an upgrade from piles in the corner of our living room).

This novel has taken me this long because I had to chop down it down from over a 1,000 pages to 600 and shrinking. It started off with something like 13 “chapters” but those 13 chapters were really chapters at all but sections or even entire books in some cases. I’ve gone through many different versions of those “chapters” too. See screen grab below.

many versions

 

However, it is hard to explain this at backyard barbeques (especially without the visual aids). Especially to people you have known since college, eye-rolling “just finish your fucking novel or I will stab you in the eye with this plastic fork“.

 

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This novel has taken me this long

  1. Winnie says:

    Your hard work will be rewarded. I can’t imagine all that research! But that is what will make it a fab book. I am laughing because people who don’t write, are like people who don’t craft, they get this look on their faces when I start explaining the differences of all my glues! I, for one can’t wait to read your book!

    • Andrea says:

      I hope it will be, but all I really care about is finishing it in a way I’m satisfied. I know, people don’t entirely get artists. keep crafting!

  2. Tom Elias says:

    Wow… I’m impressed. I probably should try doing about 10% of the research you do and make my stuff more grounded.

    • Andrea says:

      I really appreciate that Tom.

      A lot of the research I do, doesn’t make it into the book. Like looking up stuff on Doppelgangers and other folklore. And some of the research is merely mandatory in order to craft an image in my head. For example – what does so and so character’s apartment look like. I have an idea but then I look up images online and start to place them in his living room. Then I struggle with how to describe the couch, the shelving unit, etc.

      These setting touches take forever for me. It’s like learning how to walk all over again. And I’m not someone who wants pages of detail on a single room but I do want the reader to feel the sense of the room and not a white space. I think this is somewhat similar to recording vocals. At least with my vocal (I’m a soprano), it has to be layered with three or four separate vocal tracks in order to capture what it sounds like live, the microphone stripes it of that warmth, that living quality.

  3. Jimmie says:

    This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost
    moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    • Andrea says:

      Thanks Jimmie! Your comment is too cool. And I really appreciate it.

      [and of course, The Airborne Toxic Event is one of the coolest band names ever. True Love Acoustic video blew my mind, chunks are still flying out now. Way to go mandolin! Gorgeous and soaring. I just downloaded Mikel’s the Crack story.]

      I should have also provided pictorial evidence of my paper clutter but Mark would kill me if I take over any more of our apartment with all my scraps of paper. I really need to read White Noise but I have to read Ulysses first.

      In my writing process, sometimes I think I’m completely insane, I’m finalizing this first novel now and struggling with revising some sections and one way to work through that struggle/block in revision for me is to research. So I spent like 2-3 hours this past Saturday reading criticism on William Carlos Williams famous Red Wheelbarrow poem, wrote about 8-10 pages of notes that will probably become only a paragraph in the novel if anything.

  4. Pingback: my brain is emptying | makarmusic

Leave a Reply

