Adam Ant – Irving Plaza – 8/17/13 – Fucking Amazing

I’ve always reserved a special place in my punk rock heart for Adam Ant. There was something so original about him. Even so, I wasn’t expecting this past Saturday’s concert to be so fucking amazing.

We had the best seats, really the only seats in Irving Plaza, Mark and I and six other lucky early birds. When Ant came on stage, we scooted up to the top of the upholstered red corner couch and could see over people’s heads (which is unusual for me since I’m only five feet zero and I tend to get the seven foot two basketball players in front of me always and everywhere). Ant was dressed in full regalia, hat, heavy gold vest, retro glasses and probably eye liner looking like a super cool devious pirate. I cannot believe he is almost sixty. May we all look that good approaching sixty and dress that funky.

Adam Ant1

The energy in the crowd was scintillating before he even sung a note. He had a tight hard rocking band with two drummers! Two drummers a stroke of brilliant excess. The thing that struck Mark and I was how fresh his music still sounded. (These songs should be on the radio, but who listens to commercial radio anymore?) And rocking, like hard banging in your bones rocking. Primal too because of all the percussion and unexpected rhythms. Mark said lesser known songs actually resonated more with him, they were less pop, more rock and hard rock at that.

Ant is one of those vocalists that I’m in awe of. He does so many interesting things with his voice. He can toss lines off as casual and half-spoken but then power these testosterone fueled soars as well as yelps and yowls and ows and screams (ad libs of which I am always a sucker for) and conclude with high and fragile notes. It’s truly amazing. He loves to sing and his sheer exuberance shows.

His charisma was indelible and delicious. He didn’t banter or say anything I think until about twenty minutes into the blistering hard rocking set. One of his truly saucy comments was about how he always got shit for some of the bondage nature of his lyrics and he mentioned Shades of Gray saying he “doesn’t read that smut, why read it if you can live it.”

Adam Ant and his band must have played twenty-five songs at least with only a short break at the end before the well deserved encore. A marathon of punk, almost tribal, hard rocking and hitting glam pop.

Adam Ant2

I am fantastically jealous of that opening act touring with him. I wish MAKAR was asked to open for him but I’d probably burst into glittery confetti from all the excitement.

Postscript 8/20/13: I realize now that Adam Ant may have performed a lot of new tracks at Irving Plaza and that’s why it felt so new to me. I just purchased his album Adam Ant Is the Blueblack Hussar in Marrying the Gunner’s Daughter and am looking forward to listening in depth. Especially after reading this thoughtful interview. I already started last night in the throes of insomina and my heart racing towards infinity.  I’m excited that Ant has gone indie! Welcome to the brotherhood.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Concerts, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

