Adam Ant Is the Blueblack Hussar in Marrying the Gunner’s Daughter

So far, here are my scattershot thoughts from just one full listen to Adam Ant’s new album in its entirety.

Adam_Ant_Is_the_Blueblack_Hussar_in_Marrying_the_Gunner's_Daughter

Overall, Ant’s new album feels very intimate. Like you’re eavesdropping. It’s unnerving and vulnerable but also powerful.

I totally get the T. Rex comparisons because it’s special like that.

The two songs I had to immediately press repeat again on were –

Shrink

Okay, Shrink is fucking amazing and at the same time hard to listen to even though it’s very listenable and catchy. You want to jump up and down, in a spasmodic empathetic rage, at least I do.

An intense welling of sound
capillaries bursting rupturing
digs under and bleeds through the skin you want to tear off
such anger and desperation in those screaming screeching guitars
the inside of my skull pounding
heart matching

How Can I Say I Miss You?

I love the drunken country vibe of this song.

Again very intimate.

What’s so interesting about this one, is as a listener I feel like I walked into the middle of the song because of that ramshackle riotous beginning. I think that whole atmosphere adds to the revealing flavor. Like intruding on the emotional jumble of someone’s thoughts, he’s trying to downplay.

Can’t wait to listen to it again in more depth.

Please excuse my run-off of thoughts. I cannot be relied upon to make complete sense when suffering from chronic insomnia.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Music, Recording and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

