13 years ago today

Mark & I got married! We’ve been together 17 years. I know how lucky we are. We were friends first. From the beginning it was special, I never had friend like him and then it blossomed into so much more on Valentine’s Day 17 years ago in the Columbus Circle subway station.

Mark has pushed me to do so many wonderful things, to leave my fears behind.

I never would have done music without him. I never thought I had it in me. (I’ll blog about that another day) I would have left my guitar in the closet as a perpetual staining regret.

I also would never be this close to finishing my novel because he’s been there every step of the way encouraging me and just telling me on the weekend, week night, etc. Okay, for the next few hours, you have to write, miming a whip.

We’re so fortunate to have each other.

We’re going to catch a little of the US Open today and then see the horror flick You’re Next (because nothing spells romance like an indie bloody home invasion flick and on this past Valentines I did drag him to see Warm Bodies (zombie romance) – which he loved).

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Music, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 13 years ago today

  1. Mark says:

    I love you honey and it’s been a truly amazing trip. From writer to rock star you’ve done so many cool things in this sweet short life, like inspiring me to write my own book and keep going with the music. Your beautiful poetry is as powerful as anything I’ve ever read and for a songwriter having your poems to use as lyrics was like discovering a chest full of priceless and plentiful treasure. We could write a thousand albums and still have a thousand more poems to go through. I’m in awe of how prolific you are, but also how amazing a musician you have become. I can’t even remember what it was like being a musician without you. You inspired me to write my first song instead of looking for a band to just sing with. Makar would never have happened if not for your prompting sweetness. Your book is amazing like everything you create, and you are so close to finishing it. Which reminds me, I need to get back to reading the rest of it so we can start looking for a publisher. ❤ M

Leave a Reply

