when you are the cautionary tale

It’s understandable that I have a lot of doubters when I say I’m almost done with my first novel, Pushed, because it has taken me a long time. But it’s still hard to understand the lack of support from the very beginning.

The thing is the very first year I started working on what would become this novel, a friend said very casually, like it was a foregone conclusion, “Oh, you’ll never finish your novel.”

I feel in a way that she cursed me.

Years later after the suicide of a mutual friend, she’d asked me why we lost touch. I brought up that comment and another one said in the same breath that hurt me. She said she didn’t even remember saying those things which just goes to show you that people will say the most hurtful, annihilating things and they won’t even remember them!

What’s weird is that I actually don’t doubt that people will finish what they started whether it is an album or a novel.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Music, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

