my brain is emptying

Less than a week ago today I finished my novel Pushed again. Here’s a picture of me telling Mark I finished it.

Andrea finishing her novel 10-17-13

The whole weekend, I suffered from an excruciating tension headache or maybe more accurately a release of tension. It was like my brain was emptying. And my jaw was so sore, like I was eating blank pages.

mouth

I cannot imagine anything being harder than finishing it. But getting it published will probably be a long circuitous route as well. I’m hoping not. I’m thinking indie publishers are the way to go.

A lot of my novel is about my obsessions.

I’m totally obsessed with Isaiah Berlin’s The Fox and the Hedgehog. That slim red volume forms one of the main themes of my novel. The lyrics from our song Damion Day also speak of that fox / hedgehog dynamic and the parallels between the messed up relationship of Pushed’s two main protagonists.

I have a whole fantasy in my head of going on a book tour and having Makar play at the readings, combining the two genres.

William Carlos Williams’ poetry is another obsession that crops up repeatedly in my novel.

But what makes me sad is that some of my queries may get lost in the ether of the Internet, fluttering around in  a kafkaesque dead emails office or some such thing. That I won’t have a chance to send a few chapters. I at least want that chance.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Music, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

