I guess I’ve been depressed

Sorry guys, I’ve been really depressed as of late. It’s like I’m seeping gray.

Lately, a lot of people have been telling me that I can’t make a living from art – writing & music – and they know what they’re talking about. But although I know that consciously, subconsciously I have always believed that some day I will do what I love and not have to have a day job.

I’ve been feeling like I’ll always be here and never be there.

I actually wrote a poem about that feeling. I was taking the E train home and was so depressed so I composed You Are Here while staring at the you are here circle on the subway map. It was published in The Camel Saloon today. My bicycle picture was published there last week.

So that perked me up despite the constant roiling rejection of my novel, Pushed.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Music, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

