it’s hard not to get discouraged

It’s hard not to get discouraged when everyone around you seems to be getting a break (well deserved, of course, which makes it harder still) but you still have to make your own breaks.

I try not to get depressed but I am failing today.

Maybe I’m ruining the mystique of MAKAR but…whatever

I work on getting our music out there, every week, sometimes five times a week, if I’m lucky, whenever I can. And whenever someone responds positively to our music, all that effort is worth it for that one other show, person, blog, zine who listens to us.

But sometimes the sea of insecurity starts to draw me in its undertow. What is wrong with what I’m doing that we don’t get those big breaks? What am I not doing to make these things happen?

Well, we haven’t played out in forever. So I’m going to remedy that.

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Concerts, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

