the urge to sell everything

I don’t have this urge. And perhaps that is why I have too much stuff. But some stuff is not just stuff!

But my father is in throws of wanting to sell and get rid of everything. I understand it to some degree. He and my mom own a house and he doesn’t want to leave her a mess if he passes away first.

BUT, anything that has any possible monetary value he’s looking at to sell. Like if he can get $20 for something he wants to sell and it’s driving me crazy. Like I may have to take a framed photo, actually the first photo I ever shot in middle school, off the wall so they don’t try to sell it.

It’s not about the money AT ALL. Believe me.

I’m not sure what it’s about. Approaching mortality, my dad is nearing eighty, but he’s been speaking of his pending death at least since he was fifty.

I’m still sad that he demanded his two guitars back two years ago. Both of them came from his father, my grandfather – one was a Senorita Martin and the other was some strange unheard of brand that I can’t remember right now. Mark and I had used both these guitars in the recording process for our two albums. I loved their sound but it was more important that it was a connection to my paternal grandfather who died before I got to know him. It was wonderful to play these guitars for that reason.

I don’t know why I didn’t offer to buy them from him for whatever amount he wanted. He ended up selling both of the guitars for less than $100.

From time to time, I think about this. But at least on Monday when I did think about this, Sleater Kinney cheered me up. Picture from their awesome show on Irving Plaza.

Sleater Kinney at Irving Plaza 12/14/15

Sleater Kinney at Irving Plaza 12/14/15

I was able to see because I stood on a couch on the side. Because when you are five feet tall you have to come up with creative solutions at concerts.

What was wonderful about their show besides their hard core rocking was how into it all the audience was. You could feel the thousand or so people jumping up and down under your feet. But people weren’t going crazy on filming or taking pictures of the band, they were just in the moment experiencing it. So much so, that the band said, “hey you can take video”. Ha!

About Andrea

Andrea DeAngelis is at times a poet, writer, shutterbug and musician living in New York City. Her writing has recently appeared in Timeless Tales Magazine, Umbrella Factory and Niteblade. (www.andreadeangelis.com). Andrea also sings and plays guitar in the indie rock band MAKAR (www.makarmusic.com) who are in the midst of recording their third album, Fancy Hercules.
This entry was posted in Concerts, guitars, Music, Recording and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the urge to sell everything

  1. @shane says:

    I sometimes feel like your dad because I have to sell things. There are also those who keep ‘everything’. Balance is good.

Leave a Reply

